News & Events

Monday, March 31, 2014
Joy Harjo

Whittier College will celebrate the literary works of notable writers and artists during the 2014 Writers Festival. This year’s slate includes award winning authors Jennifer Clement, Ismet Prcic, Joy Harjo, Ron Carlson, and Grammy award winning... More

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Whittier College presents the 77th Annual Bach Festival—the oldest collegiate Bach festival west of the Mississippi—on April 2-6. This year’s festival celebrates Bach and the Cantata and includes various performances from students, faculty, alumni... More

Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Father Greg Boyle

Humanitarian Jesuit Priest Father Gregory Boyle will give the keynote address at Whittier College's 111th Commencement Ceremony on Friday, May 16, 9 a.m. in Memorial Stadium on the Whittier College campus. During the event, at which approximately... More

Monday, March 10, 2014

More than 25,000 runners participated in the 2014 Los Angeles Marathon last Sunday.  Among those who ran the 26.2 mile course - starting at Dodger Stadium and ending at the Santa Monica Pier - were Whittier College alumna Kristine Mariscal '10 and... More

Friday, March 7, 2014
Professor Paul Kjellberg

Professor of Philosophy Paul Kjellberg has been appointed the new Hartley House Faculty Master. He and his son Ford will take up residency there in Fall 2014. Kjellberg will succeed Professor sal johnston who brought and continues to bring to... More

Friday, March 7, 2014
New York Times

Professor of Religious Studies Joseph Price shared his expertise on the intersection between sports and religion in a recent New York Times feature story.  The article focused the NBA’s Oklahoma City Thunder's practice of having  prayer before games... More

Thursday, March 6, 2014
ElliptiGO

Whittier College athletes will soon be seen around the streets of Whittier utilizing a new and dynamic training tool– the ElliptiGO, a high-intensity, low-impact running device that can be used for rehabilitation and supplemental training. Alumnus... More

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Hairspray the Musical will be coming to the Whittier College stage March 5-8 at 8 p.m. and March 9 at 2 p.m. in the Robinson Theatre of the Ruth B. Shannon Center of the Performing Arts, 6760 Painter Ave., Whittier, CA 90608. General Admission $15;... More

Sunday, March 2, 2014
Cheryl Boone Isaacs '71

With the 2014 Academy Awards telecast on Sunday, a spotlight has shone on the organization’s new president Cheryl Boone Isaacs. The veteran Hollywood marketing executive has recently been profiled in the Los Angeles Times,  Associated Press, ... More

Friday, February 28, 2014
Alma Martinez '84

Actress and theatre professor Alma Martinez ’84 was inducted into the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) last fall. She joined 21 other Latino celebrities—including Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Lopez, and Danny Trejo—invited to join... More

Pages

Jul
07
Tue, 07/07/2015 - 7:30pm
Jul
13
Mon, 07/13/2015 - 8:45am
Jul
14
Tue, 07/14/2015 - 12:00pm
With Genevieve Shaul Connick, Professor of Religious... More
Jul
21
Tue, 07/21/2015 - 12:00pm
With Judith Wagner and Members of the Broadoaks Faculty
Jul
28
Tue, 07/28/2015 - 12:00pm
With Executive Director of Athletics and Special... More
Aug
04
Tue, 08/04/2015 - 12:00pm
With Vice President for Finance and Administration Jim... More
Aug
11
Tue, 08/11/2015 - 12:00pm
With Director of LEAP Shauna Sobers and Cody Allman '16
Aug
18
Tue, 08/18/2015 - 12:00pm
With Chair of the Faculty and Professor of Political... More
Aug
22
Sat, 08/22/2015 - 8:00am
Access and Academic Language for English  Language... More
Sep
06
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
09
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
22
Tue, 09/22/2015 - 7:00pm
Oct
03
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47.00Purchase Tickets The music of... More
Oct
03
Sat, 10/03/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets The music of... More
Oct
16
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 8:00am
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
02
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
16
Mon, 11/16/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
25
Wed, 11/25/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
26
Thu, 11/26/2015 - 9:30am
College closed.
Dec
05
Sat, 12/05/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For this season,... More
Dec
05
Sat, 12/05/2015 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For this season,... More
Dec
15
Tue, 12/15/2015 - 9:30am
Jan
16
Sat, 01/16/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47 Purchase Tickets For 30 years, ... More
Jan
16
Sat, 01/16/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets For 30 years, the... More
Mar
12
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets  The ‘Ukulele is... More
Mar
12
Sat, 03/12/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets The ‘Ukulele is... More
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 2:00pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More
May
21
Sat, 05/21/2016 - 7:30pm
General Admission $47Purchase Tickets Robert &... More