News & Events

Wednesday, June 30, 2010
Whittier is on list of california's top 10 liberal arts colleges.

US News and World Report has included Whittier College in its list of top 10 liberal arts colleges in the state. The list, which includes other top schools such as Pomona and Occidental, is part of the 2010 edition of America's Best Colleges... More

Sunday, June 27, 2010
Edmonton press gives alumnus Senator Strickland due respect for sports prowess and being an all around 'nice guy'.

In the recent article "From Senate Chamber to Center Court" (Edmonton Journal), CA State Senator, campaigning State Controller on the Republican ticket, and two-season L.A. Lightning basketball athlete Tony Strickland '93 demonstrates why he's a... More

Sunday, June 27, 2010
Geologist Alumnus Ramon Arrowsmith '89  profiled for groundbreaking earthquake study

Dr. Ramon Arrowsmith '89, a geologist and professor at Arizona State University, was part of a team of researchers studying earthquake behavior, specifically along a key part of the San Andreas Fault in California. Supported in part by the NSF, the... More

Sunday, June 6, 2010
Whittier student film makers have vegas debut

Four Whittier College student-produced films will be screened at the Campus MovieFest (CMF) 2010 International Grand Finale (IGF) at the Wynn Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. From June 10-13, CMF—the world's largest student film festival—will host... More

Sunday, June 6, 2010
Brownie Sibrian '10 at graduation wearing his stole that identies him as latino.

Whittier College's targeted efforts to successfully graduate Latino students is the focus of an Associated Press article that ran this weekend in the Los Angeles Times, Houston Chronicle, USA Today, and San Diego Union-Tribune, among other... More

Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Professor Fred Bergerson Returns to vietnam four decades after the war.

Political science professor Fred Bergerson was featured in Bill Bell's Memorial Day column in the Whittier Daily News. Bergerson recently led a group of alumni and friends of the College on a 10-day trip through Vietnam. For Bergerson, a Vietnam... More

Friday, May 28, 2010
Whittier College Celebrates 107th commencement ceremony under sunny skies.

A sunny spring morning welcomed the class of 2010 to Whittier College's 107th Commencement exercises. The more than 360 graduates in attendance received words of wisdom and encouragement from commencement speaker and award-winning author Tim O'... More

Tuesday, May 25, 2010
Whittier College celebrates latino graduates.

The 9th Annual Latino Graduates Celebration kicked off 2010 Commencement Week activities, with more than 50 Whittier College students donning the traditional cap-and-gown to be formally recognized by President Sharon Herzberger on the stage of the... More

Friday, May 21, 2010
Jeff Edwards '10 stands by his sculpture which recieved 1st place at the greenleaf gallery .

The Studio Arts Department held their annual end-of-the year juried exhibit of student works. The jurors awarded first place to Jeff Edwards '10 and second place to Tiffany Desy '10. Jackie Jones '10 and Jane Edwards-McNear '10 tied for third place.... More

Wednesday, May 19, 2010
Latino Alumni Mentors Host etiquette dinner.

The Latina Alumnae Mentorship Program (LAMP) and the newly formed brother organization, Mentoring Excellence Through Alumni Support (METAS) recently hosted a networking and etiquette dinner for Whittier College students. The event, held at a local... More

Pages

Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 10:00am
Join fellow Poets for a discussion, and Q&A session... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE SHORT AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
02
Thu, 04/02/2015 - 5:00pm
Gloria Molina: Lessons on Leadership In a conversation... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
For the first time, Whittier College will hold a Lavender... More
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
Please join us to acknowledge students’ academic success... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am