News & Events

Monday, November 9, 2009

More than 500 students, staff, and alumni participated in the 16th Annual Whittier College Helping Hands Day—an event that places members of the College community in volunteer service projects throughout the local community. In collaboration with... More

Friday, November 6, 2009

On Saturday, Nov. 14, at the Presidio Theater in San Francisco, the top 75 student films from 16 colleges and universities in California, Oregon, Washington, and Arizona will compete in the 2009 Campus MovieFest's Western Regional Finale. Screenings... More

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Testosterone, the hormone that creates brawn also causes men to be less generous, concludes a new study led by visiting professor Karen Redwine, a neuro-economist. "Our broad conclusion is that testosterone causes men essentially to be stingy," says... More

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Pulitzer prize-winning reporter Sonia Nazario will speak at Whittier College on Thursday, November 12 at 7:30 p.m. in the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts, 6760 Painter Ave., Whittier, CA 90608. Nazario will read from her national... More

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

The W.M. Keck Foundation has awarded Whittier College a grant for $250,000 to launch two interdisciplinary learning centers: the Center for Science, Health, and Policy (CSHP), and the Center for Collaborations with the Arts (CCA). The funding from... More

Friday, October 16, 2009

The 38th Annual Whittier College Tardeada—a celebration of Latino culture and heritage—will highlight Cuban culture, music, dance, and food with the theme Havana Cabana. Tardeada will take place on Sunday, October 25 at 4:00 p.m. in the Campus... More

Monday, October 12, 2009

Professor Fred Bergerson, political science professor and veteran of the Vietnam War (Captain, U.S. 1st Cavalry Division/Airmobile), will lead a 12-day tour for alumni and families through some of the most well-known battle sites and share... More

Monday, October 12, 2009

Woodrow Wilson visiting fellow and Asia expert Richard Halloran will deliver a special lecture, “Revival of the Middle Kingdom: Rising China in the 21st Century,” on Thursday, October 22 at 8 p.m. in AJ Villalobos Hall, 7214 Painter Avenue, Whittier... More

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) announced its weekly Athletes of the Week and for the fifth time this year Poets were honored. Casey Regehr '10, who helped lead the men's water polo team to a 3-1 weekend at the... More

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Acclaimed author Bharhati Mukherjee received Whittier College's highest award, an honorary doctorate of humane letters (L.H.D.), during a special ceremony last night. Mukherjee was on campus as part of the 2009 Whittier College Writers Festival. The... More

Pages

Oct
31
Fri, 10/31/2014 - 11:30am
Join us as we celebrate the Day of the Dead • Decorate your... More
Nov
03
Mon, 11/03/2014 - 9:00am
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 11:00am
Interested in attending Grad School? Come to the Graduate... More
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
08
Sat, 11/08/2014 - 8:00am
The CA Forum for Diversity in Graduate Education is on Nov... More
Nov
12
Wed, 11/12/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
13
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 2:00pm
Learn how to access freely-licensed media via repositories... More
Nov
13
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 6:30pm
A native of North Carolina, Craig received his musical... More
Nov
19
Wed, 11/19/2014 - 4:30pm
Learn your leadership styles and how to implement it into... More
Nov
21
Fri, 11/21/2014 - 11:45am
Come join LEAP in our 23rd Annual Sportsfest!
Dec
09
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 9:00am
Jan
05
Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:00am
Feb
18
Wed, 02/18/2015 - 6:30pm
Lights, camera, ACTION! Take the spotlight, it's your time... More
Feb
18
Wed, 02/18/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their career adventures and... More
Feb
20
Fri, 02/20/2015 - 11:15am
For any First-Year students who want to get acquainted with... More
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 11:00am
Mar
11
Wed, 03/11/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their journey into these fields... More