News & Events

Thursday, August 20, 2009

The Los Angeles Sparks women's basketball team honored Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger during its annual Inspiring Women Night on Wednesday, as the Sparks took on the Washington Mystics in the Staples Center. Four inspirational women... More

Monday, August 3, 2009

Beloved professor Hilmi Ibrahim passed away on July 12, following a prolonged illness. A recipient of the Harry W. Nerhood Award for Teaching Excellence--one of Whittier College's highest honors for faculty--Ibrahim was a member of the Department of... More

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Tony Strickland, team member of the Los Angeles Lightning, will be on hand for game 3 of 3 of the International Basketball League championship tonight July 28 at 7 p.m. The game can be heard via the internet on KVTA 1520 AM or KKZZ 1440 AM.  The 6'5... More

Monday, July 20, 2009

The Shannon Center for Performing Arts proudly announces the 2009-10 Acoustic Voices Series. This series will present the voices of acoustic performers typically heard in coffee houses, bars, and on public radio. They won’t all be in the same style... More

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Professor George Da Roza is currently teaching a four-week, intensive course in Mandarin at Whittier High School—part of Whittier's efforts to expands its East Asian studies program. The class is being funded by a Department of Defense grant,... More

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Whittier grad Allyson Jo Saca '09 and three friends are preparing for the 2009 Mongol Rally, a charity race across Europe and Asia in a small, underpowered 1.2-liter car, reports the Weston Forum.  The rally begins in Barcelona, Spain, and ends in... More

Monday, July 13, 2009

Professor of psychology Chuck Hill appears in the Wall Street Journal discussing the differences between men and women and how they may affect romantic relationships. Hill asserts that adhering to social expectations in terms of displaying emotions... More

Monday, July 13, 2009

Cultural Center Director Joy Hoffman, adopted as an infant from Korea, shares that she did not come to terms with her Korean identity until she became an adult and began working in higher education.  "If I hadn't gotten into higher ed, I would never... More

Friday, July 10, 2009

The annual celebration of Hawai'ian music returns with a new line-up of award-winning and internationally acclaimed musicians and performers. The featured artists will include HAPA, John Santos, Makaha Sons, Ho'okena, and other notables. As one of... More

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Edison International has awarded Whittier College a grant for $10,000 to support undergraduate science research. The Edison Undergraduate Summer Science Research Fellowships for Minority Students will provide talented students of color majoring in... More

Pages

May
23
Sat, 05/23/2015 - 3:00am
Information and Tickets: http://www.shannoncenter.org/... More
May
23
Sat, 05/23/2015 - 8:00pm
Information and tickets: http://www.shannoncenter.org/... More
May
25
Mon, 05/25/2015 - 8:00am
May
30
Sat, 05/30/2015 (All day)
Every year, alumni from across the globe participate in... More
Jun
08
Mon, 06/08/2015 - 8:45am
Jun
15
Mon, 06/15/2015 - 8:45am
Jun
29
Mon, 06/29/2015 - 8:45am
Jul
03
Fri, 07/03/2015 - 8:00am
Jul
13
Mon, 07/13/2015 - 8:45am
Aug
22
Sat, 08/22/2015 - 8:00am
Access and Academic Language for English  Language... More
Sep
06
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
09
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
22
Tue, 09/22/2015 - 7:00pm
Oct
16
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 8:00am
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
02
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
16
Mon, 11/16/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
25
Wed, 11/25/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
26
Thu, 11/26/2015 - 9:30am
College closed.
Dec
15
Tue, 12/15/2015 - 9:30am