News & Events

Thursday, September 25, 2014
George Tenopir sits behind desk

George Kenneth Tenopir, a beloved member of the Poet family, passed away suddenly on Sunday, September 21, 2014. He was 90 years old. Born in 1923 in Friend, Nebraska, Tenopir served with the Army in World War II before completing his studies at... More

Thursday, September 25, 2014
Alumna Dawn Finley (right), Jenn Witte (left) and custom "bookcycle"

Alumna Dawn Finley’s ’00 Feminist Library On Wheels (FLOW), a mobile library project, was recently featured in the Column One section of the Los Angeles Times. Traveling on a custom tricycle equipped with bookshelves, Finley and friend Jenn Witte... More

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Tuesday, September 22, 2014 The Broadoaks Children's School celebrated the International Day of Peace on the Whittier College campus on September 22. Together with Whittier College students and with the goal of promoting peace, the children created... More

Monday, September 15, 2014
Professor Natale A. Zappia

Assistant Professor of History Natale A. Zappia's new book, Traders and Raiders: The Indigenous World of The Colorado Basin, 1540-1859, was released this summer. Zappia’s newest publication is an expansive study of the complex Indigenous world that... More

Thursday, September 11, 2014
US News and World Report

Once again, Whittier College has been named one of the top national liberal arts colleges by U.S. News and World Report and the Washington Monthly, among others, in the annual college rankings roundtable.   Of note, the U.S. News' 2015 Best Colleges... More

Monday, September 1, 2014
Johnny Poet at New student orientation

Over 480 first-year and transfer students were on campus on Sunday to begin their journey as Whittier College Poets. Incoming students and their families had the opportunity to meet and mingle with alumni, faculty, staff, administrators, and fellow... More

Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Fred Bergerson

To commemorate the 40th anniversary of President Richard Nixon’s ’34 resignation from office, portions of a rarely-heard interview with former aide Frank Gannon have been published by the Richard Nixon Presidential Library and Richard Nixon... More

Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Aidan Proshuto '18

For incoming Poet Aidan Proshuto ’18, choosing the right college was crucial. After completing his heavy share of research, Proshuto came to find a “perfect fit” in Whittier College. His experience prompted him to create a website, ... More

Monday, August 25, 2014
The Princeton Review logo

Whittier College has once again been designated as one of the nation's best institutions for undergraduate education by The Princeton Review. The College is featured in the education services company's new 2015 edition of its annual college guide, "... More

Monday, August 18, 2014
OMEP

Professor of Education and Child Development and Director of the Broadoaks Children’s School Judith Wagner delivered the keynote address at the 66th OMEP World Assembly and International Conference held in Cork, Ireland earlier this summer.  Her... More

Pages

May
23
Sat, 05/23/2015 - 3:00am
Information and Tickets: http://www.shannoncenter.org/... More
May
23
Sat, 05/23/2015 - 8:00pm
Information and tickets: http://www.shannoncenter.org/... More
May
25
Mon, 05/25/2015 - 8:00am
May
30
Sat, 05/30/2015 (All day)
Every year, alumni from across the globe participate in... More
Jun
08
Mon, 06/08/2015 - 8:45am
Jun
15
Mon, 06/15/2015 - 8:45am
Jun
29
Mon, 06/29/2015 - 8:45am
Jul
03
Fri, 07/03/2015 - 8:00am
Jul
13
Mon, 07/13/2015 - 8:45am
Aug
22
Sat, 08/22/2015 - 8:00am
Access and Academic Language for English  Language... More
Sep
06
Sun, 09/06/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
09
Wed, 09/09/2015 - 8:00am
Sep
22
Tue, 09/22/2015 - 7:00pm
Oct
16
Fri, 10/16/2015 - 8:00am
Oct
23
Fri, 10/23/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
02
Mon, 11/02/2015 - 8:00am
Nov
16
Mon, 11/16/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
25
Wed, 11/25/2015 - 9:30am
Nov
26
Thu, 11/26/2015 - 9:30am
College closed.
Dec
15
Tue, 12/15/2015 - 9:30am