Poet Council

The Poet Council is a small, presidential advisory group, formed to tap into fresh and thoughtful perspectives on opportunities and challenges facing Whittier College.

Select alumni, Poet parents, and friends close to the College are invited by the president to participate. Their main task is to offer their best reasoning, creativity, and thoughtful commentary.

The Council meets on campus twice a year, once in the fall and again in the spring. Appointments to the Poet Council are for two years. During the gatherings, Councilors meet with the president, relevant senior administrators, and others for a discussion and brainstorming session on a single topic of strategic significance to the College. Past topics have included Image and Identity, Alumni Relations, and Strategic Enrollment.

As a presidential initiative, the Poet Council receives administrative support from the Executive Assistant to the President.


Kristin Wiberg
Executive Assistant to the President

Members of the Poet Council Class of 2019

CJ Carty ’00
Vanessa Christman P’18
Jeffrey Cleveland ’02
Arthur Lombardi ’64
Hal Richardson ’78
Brett Schraeder ’95
Linda Schraeder ’96
Harlan Stelmach ’67
Carol Tenopir ’74

Members of the Poet Council Class of 2020

Catherine Choy P’21
Gregory Choy P’21
Mark Deven ’79 
Rick Geske P'21
Tina Geske P'21
Douglas Kotkin '90
Joann Kotkin '91
Anne O’Donnell P’18
Raye Robinson ’80
Mark Simmons ’68
Hugh Slee P’21
Kimberly Slee P’21
David Smith P’21
Tanya Zangaglia P’21