ASWC Committees


There are six standing committees that help conduct the regular business of ASWC. Committees are chaired by a member of the executive cabinet. Any ASWC member/Whittier College student can serve on a committee.

Administrative Committee - By Appointment

Reviews the ASWC Constitution and by-laws and any proposed legislation, other than funding requests.
Chair: Amer Rashid, Vice President

Advocacy Committee - Every Tuesday at 4:30 p.m. in the Senate Office

Helps students in the judicial process with the College.
Chair: Robert L. Duarte Jr., President

Budget Committee - Every Monday at 4:30 p.m. in the Senate Office

Reviews all funding requests and ensures the Funding Code is adhered to.
Chair: César Zamora, Treasurer

Campus Relations Committee - Every Wednesday at 4:30 p.m. in the Senate Office

Promotes the great work of the ASWC.
Chair: Leah Boynton, Campus Relations Director

Elections Committee -  Every Friday at 2:30 p.m. in the Senate Office

There are two major elections for officers each year, one to elect the First-Year Class Council and another election for the Executive Cabinet, Residential Hall Representative, Commuter Representative, and 4 Student Body Representatives.
Chair: Tana Duong, Secretary

Program Board - Every Tuesday at 5:00 p.m in the LEAP Conference Room

Hosts events for the student body, such as Welcome Week, Homecoming Spirit Week, Dub Sync Lip Sync Competition, SpringFest Carnival, Luminarias (Lumies) Semi-formal Dance, and movies / premieres.
Chair: Cody Allman, Program Board Director

There are also Ad hoc Committees designated by the ASWC President as deemed necessary for that semester or academic year. Any ASWC member/Whittier College student can serve on a committee. The following are the current Ad hoc Committees.

Culinary Committee - Every 2nd and 4th Wednesday at 5:00 p.m. in the ASWC Senate Office 
Chair: Senator Katie Clendening 

Student Feedback Committee - Every Monday at 5:00 p.m. in the ASWC Senate
​Chair: Senator Rodolfo Marquez

Environmental Committee - Every Monday at 1:30 p.m. in the Senate Office 
Chair: Senator Hannah Martin

Academic Affairs Committee - Every Friday at 5:00 p.m. in the Senate Office
Chair: Vice President Amer Rashid