News & Events

Monday, September 27, 2010

The Shannon Center for the Performing Arts presents the 2010-11 Cabaret Series— Songs You Know by Heart. Folk and Rock duo Chad & Jeremy kick off the series by bringing back the great songs from the British Invasion of the early 60's. Other... More

Thursday, September 23, 2010
Whittier College Part of Building Blocks to 2020 Website.

The National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) and Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) unveiled a new website (www.buildingblocks2020.org) today designed to highlight and support efforts by nonprofit private colleges and... More

Thursday, September 23, 2010

The National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) and Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) unveiled a new website (www.buildingblocks2020.org) today designed to highlight and support efforts by nonprofit private colleges and... More

Wednesday, September 22, 2010
Dean Charlotte Borst presents on upcoming book on scholarship and education.

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty Charlotte Borst was invited to deliver two presentations related to scholarship in her upcoming book: Choosing the Student Body: Race, Gender and Science in American Medical School Admissions... More

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Visiting professor Miroslava Chavez-Garcia gave a special lecture, States of Delinquency: Youth, Race, and Science at Whittier State School, 1890s to 1940s, on the history of the Whittier State School, also known as the Fred C. Nelles School on... More

Tuesday, September 21, 2010
Construction begins on Martin Ortiz '48 elementary school.

Wichita Public Schools began construction on its $7.6 million Martin Ortiz Elementary School after a ceremonial groundbreaking today at the site of the new school. John Ortiz, a sibling of Martin Ortiz, spoke on behalf of the family. At the end of... More

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

More than 400 students, staff, and alumni will join more than 14,000 volunteers from all over Los Angeles County for the 2010 Heal the Bay Costa Clean-up event on Saturday, September 25 from 9:00 a.m. until noon. Whittier College will clean up the... More

Friday, September 17, 2010

An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will be part of the 2010 Whittier College Writers Festival, including English poet Michael Hulse, novelists Ron Carlson, and Poet and Iraq War Veteran Brian Turner. Moreover, playwright Yehuda... More

Wednesday, September 15, 2010
Whittier College president Sharon Herzberger gives advice on choosing the right fit.

Writing as a guest commentator for the San Gabriel Valley Tribune, Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger gives advice to parents about how to help their children pick the college with the "right fit." "On my numerous college trips I have... More

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

The RealNewArts Foundation in association with The Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts proudly presents RealNewMusic 2010 at the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts, 67060 Painter Ave, Whittier, CA 90608, Saturday, September 18... More

Pages

Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Anne Cong-Huyen City of Life is an urban... More
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed... More
Mar
05
Thu, 03/05/2015 - 7:30pm
This event is free and open to the public. Reservations... More
Mar
05
Thu, 03/05/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
06
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
07
Sat, 03/07/2015 - 12:00pm
Diversity Council organizations, The Office of... More
Mar
10
Tue, 03/10/2015 - 7:30pm
Directed by John Malkovich "Julian Sands is on occasion... More
Mar
11
Wed, 03/11/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their journey into these fields... More
Mar
14
Sat, 03/14/2015 - 8:30am
Meet great authors, discuss books with other bibliophiles... More
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 3:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
25
Wed, 03/25/2015 - 1:30pm
Political Scientist Raymond Rocco of the UCLA Latin... More
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 10:00am
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Vandana Khanna was born in New Delhi, India and is the... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE STRANGE AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
09
Thu, 04/09/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
This event is for all seniors who wish to be acknowledged... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information