News & Events

Sunday, June 27, 2010
Geologist Alumnus Ramon Arrowsmith '89  profiled for groundbreaking earthquake study

Dr. Ramon Arrowsmith '89, a geologist and professor at Arizona State University, was part of a team of researchers studying earthquake behavior, specifically along a key part of the San Andreas Fault in California. Supported in part by the NSF, the... More

Sunday, June 6, 2010
Whittier student film makers have vegas debut

Four Whittier College student-produced films will be screened at the Campus MovieFest (CMF) 2010 International Grand Finale (IGF) at the Wynn Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. From June 10-13, CMF—the world's largest student film festival—will host... More

Sunday, June 6, 2010
Brownie Sibrian '10 at graduation wearing his stole that identies him as latino.

Whittier College's targeted efforts to successfully graduate Latino students is the focus of an Associated Press article that ran this weekend in the Los Angeles Times, Houston Chronicle, USA Today, and San Diego Union-Tribune, among other... More

Tuesday, June 1, 2010
Professor Fred Bergerson Returns to vietnam four decades after the war.

Political science professor Fred Bergerson was featured in Bill Bell's Memorial Day column in the Whittier Daily News. Bergerson recently led a group of alumni and friends of the College on a 10-day trip through Vietnam. For Bergerson, a Vietnam... More

Friday, May 28, 2010
Whittier College Celebrates 107th commencement ceremony under sunny skies.

A sunny spring morning welcomed the class of 2010 to Whittier College's 107th Commencement exercises. The more than 360 graduates in attendance received words of wisdom and encouragement from commencement speaker and award-winning author Tim O'... More

Tuesday, May 25, 2010
Whittier College celebrates latino graduates.

The 9th Annual Latino Graduates Celebration kicked off 2010 Commencement Week activities, with more than 50 Whittier College students donning the traditional cap-and-gown to be formally recognized by President Sharon Herzberger on the stage of the... More

Friday, May 21, 2010
Jeff Edwards '10 stands by his sculpture which recieved 1st place at the greenleaf gallery .

The Studio Arts Department held their annual end-of-the year juried exhibit of student works. The jurors awarded first place to Jeff Edwards '10 and second place to Tiffany Desy '10. Jackie Jones '10 and Jane Edwards-McNear '10 tied for third place.... More

Wednesday, May 19, 2010
Latino Alumni Mentors Host etiquette dinner.

The Latina Alumnae Mentorship Program (LAMP) and the newly formed brother organization, Mentoring Excellence Through Alumni Support (METAS) recently hosted a networking and etiquette dinner for Whittier College students. The event, held at a local... More

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

More than 50 Whittier College students will don the traditional cap-and-gown and be formally recognized by President Sharon Herzberger during the 9th Annual Latino Graduate Celebration on Saturday, May 22, at 4 p.m. in the Ruth B. Shannon Center for... More

Sunday, May 16, 2010
Author and lawyer Geoff Shepard will participate in a special forum "five watergate conspiracies"

Author and lawyer Geoff Shepard will participate in a special forum, "Five Watergate Conspiracies," at the Richard M. Nixon Presidential Library on Monday, May 24. The panel discussion, part of a series of Legacy Forums, will compare prominent... More

Pages

Feb
26
Thu, 02/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Lady Zen: Jazz, Blues, Poems Alzenira Santos Amaral de... More
Feb
28
Sat, 02/28/2015 - 9:00am
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Anne Cong-Huyen City of Life is an urban... More
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed... More
Mar
05
Thu, 03/05/2015 - 7:30pm
This event is free and open to the public. Reservations... More
Mar
05
Thu, 03/05/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
06
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
07
Sat, 03/07/2015 - 12:00pm
Diversity Council organizations, The Office of... More
Mar
10
Tue, 03/10/2015 - 7:30pm
Directed by John Malkovich "Julian Sands is on occasion... More
Mar
11
Wed, 03/11/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their journey into these fields... More
Mar
14
Sat, 03/14/2015 - 8:30am
Meet great authors, discuss books with other bibliophiles... More
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 3:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
21
Sat, 03/21/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $47.00Buy Tickets Kawika's first... More
Mar
25
Wed, 03/25/2015 - 1:30pm
Political Scientist Raymond Rocco of the UCLA Latin... More
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 10:00am
Mar
26
Thu, 03/26/2015 - 7:00pm
Vandana Khanna was born in New Delhi, India and is the... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:00pm
Panelists from important Latino radio, journalism, and... More
Mar
31
Tue, 03/31/2015 - 7:30pm
Jeff Hobbs' book THE STRANGE AND TRAGIC LIFE OF ROBERT... More
Apr
01
Wed, 04/01/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Irfana Hashmi ​Five separate cameras tell... More
Apr
04
Sat, 04/04/2015 - 3:00pm
Apr
06
Mon, 04/06/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
07
Tue, 04/07/2015 - 8:00pm
Latin Jazz 102 Jazz With No Prerequisites Instructor:... More
Apr
09
Thu, 04/09/2015 - 5:00pm
Talk and discussion about journalism ethics and gendered... More
Apr
12
Sun, 04/12/2015 - 2:00pm
This event is for all seniors who wish to be acknowledged... More
Apr
14
Tue, 04/14/2015 - 1:30pm
An exciting slate of writers and performing artists will... More
Apr
15
Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:30pm
Join Louie and David from Los Lobos as they take it back... More
Apr
21
Tue, 04/21/2015 - 7:00pm
Robert Polito, President of the Poetry Foundation,... More
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 6:30pm
Apr
22
Wed, 04/22/2015 - 8:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 12:00pm
Apr
24
Fri, 04/24/2015 - 7:00pm
Apr
25
Sat, 04/25/2015 - 7:30am
Whittier College's Undergraduate Research, Scholarship,... More
Apr
26
Sun, 04/26/2015 - 2:00pm
General Admission: $15.00 Senior Citizens and Students... More
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 4:00pm
Apr
28
Tue, 04/28/2015 - 8:00pm
Apr
29
Wed, 04/29/2015 - 6:30pm
Hosted by: Tessa Farmer A portrait of the lives of... More
Apr
30
Thu, 04/30/2015 - 12:30pm
May
01
Fri, 05/01/2015 - 12:00pm
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 8:00am
May
02
Sat, 05/02/2015 - 2:00pm
May
09
Sat, 05/09/2015 - 4:00pm
The Latino Graduates Celebration is a bilingual ceremony... More
May
14
Thu, 05/14/2015 - 8:00pm
The Baccalaureate Ceremony is an opportunity for... More
May
15
Fri, 05/15/2015 - 9:00am
More Information