News & Events

Monday, November 9, 2009

More than 500 students, staff, and alumni participated in the 16th Annual Whittier College Helping Hands Day—an event that places members of the College community in volunteer service projects throughout the local community. In collaboration with... More

Friday, November 6, 2009

On Saturday, Nov. 14, at the Presidio Theater in San Francisco, the top 75 student films from 16 colleges and universities in California, Oregon, Washington, and Arizona will compete in the 2009 Campus MovieFest's Western Regional Finale. Screenings... More

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Testosterone, the hormone that creates brawn also causes men to be less generous, concludes a new study led by visiting professor Karen Redwine, a neuro-economist. "Our broad conclusion is that testosterone causes men essentially to be stingy," says... More

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Pulitzer prize-winning reporter Sonia Nazario will speak at Whittier College on Thursday, November 12 at 7:30 p.m. in the Ruth B. Shannon Center for the Performing Arts, 6760 Painter Ave., Whittier, CA 90608. Nazario will read from her national... More

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

The W.M. Keck Foundation has awarded Whittier College a grant for $250,000 to launch two interdisciplinary learning centers: the Center for Science, Health, and Policy (CSHP), and the Center for Collaborations with the Arts (CCA). The funding from... More

Friday, October 16, 2009

The 38th Annual Whittier College Tardeada—a celebration of Latino culture and heritage—will highlight Cuban culture, music, dance, and food with the theme Havana Cabana. Tardeada will take place on Sunday, October 25 at 4:00 p.m. in the Campus... More

Monday, October 12, 2009

Professor Fred Bergerson, political science professor and veteran of the Vietnam War (Captain, U.S. 1st Cavalry Division/Airmobile), will lead a 12-day tour for alumni and families through some of the most well-known battle sites and share... More

Monday, October 12, 2009

Woodrow Wilson visiting fellow and Asia expert Richard Halloran will deliver a special lecture, “Revival of the Middle Kingdom: Rising China in the 21st Century,” on Thursday, October 22 at 8 p.m. in AJ Villalobos Hall, 7214 Painter Avenue, Whittier... More

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) announced its weekly Athletes of the Week and for the fifth time this year Poets were honored. Casey Regehr '10, who helped lead the men's water polo team to a 3-1 weekend at the... More

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Acclaimed author Bharhati Mukherjee received Whittier College's highest award, an honorary doctorate of humane letters (L.H.D.), during a special ceremony last night. Mukherjee was on campus as part of the 2009 Whittier College Writers Festival. The... More

Pages

Oct
02
Thu, 10/02/2014 - 12:30pm
Join us for this Info Session! This course enables... More
Oct
02
Thu, 10/02/2014 - 4:30pm
Go Global This Jan Term 2015 in China & Hong Kong! ... More
Oct
09
Thu, 10/09/2014 - 4:00pm
Howard Rheingold, author of Net Smart: How to Thrive Online... More
Oct
14
Tue, 10/14/2014 - 4:00pm
Come mingle and learn about what’s happening at DigLibArts... More
Oct
17
Fri, 10/17/2014 - 9:00am
By now, you should have received your "Save-the-Date"... More
Oct
21
Tue, 10/21/2014 - 7:00pm
Aliki Barnstone is a poet, translator, critic, and editor.... More
Oct
21
Tue, 10/21/2014 - 7:00pm
Join us for a special Open Access Week viewing of The... More
Oct
24
Fri, 10/24/2014 - 11:30am
Come join LEAP for a spooky time at Knott's Scary Farm!
Nov
03
Mon, 11/03/2014 - 9:00am
Nov
05
Wed, 11/05/2014 - 11:00am
Employers please register at Poet Paths.
Nov
21
Fri, 11/21/2014 - 11:45am
Come join LEAP in our 23rd Annual Sportsfest!
Dec
09
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 9:00am
Jan
05
Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:00am
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 11:00am