News & Events

Monday, March 31, 2014
Joy Harjo

Whittier College will celebrate the literary works of notable writers and artists during the 2014 Writers Festival. This year’s slate includes award winning authors Jennifer Clement, Ismet Prcic, Joy Harjo, Ron Carlson, and Grammy award winning... More

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Whittier College presents the 77th Annual Bach Festival—the oldest collegiate Bach festival west of the Mississippi—on April 2-6. This year’s festival celebrates Bach and the Cantata and includes various performances from students, faculty, alumni... More

Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Father Greg Boyle

Humanitarian Jesuit Priest Father Gregory Boyle will give the keynote address at Whittier College's 111th Commencement Ceremony on Friday, May 16, 9 a.m. in Memorial Stadium on the Whittier College campus. During the event, at which approximately... More

Monday, March 10, 2014

More than 25,000 runners participated in the 2014 Los Angeles Marathon last Sunday.  Among those who ran the 26.2 mile course - starting at Dodger Stadium and ending at the Santa Monica Pier - were Whittier College alumna Kristine Mariscal '10 and... More

Friday, March 7, 2014
Professor Paul Kjellberg

Professor of Philosophy Paul Kjellberg has been appointed the new Hartley House Faculty Master. He and his son Ford will take up residency there in Fall 2014. Kjellberg will succeed Professor sal johnston who brought and continues to bring to... More

Friday, March 7, 2014
New York Times

Professor of Religious Studies Joseph Price shared his expertise on the intersection between sports and religion in a recent New York Times feature story.  The article focused the NBA’s Oklahoma City Thunder's practice of having  prayer before games... More

Thursday, March 6, 2014
ElliptiGO

Whittier College athletes will soon be seen around the streets of Whittier utilizing a new and dynamic training tool– the ElliptiGO, a high-intensity, low-impact running device that can be used for rehabilitation and supplemental training. Alumnus... More

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Hairspray the Musical will be coming to the Whittier College stage March 5-8 at 8 p.m. and March 9 at 2 p.m. in the Robinson Theatre of the Ruth B. Shannon Center of the Performing Arts, 6760 Painter Ave., Whittier, CA 90608. General Admission $15;... More

Sunday, March 2, 2014
Cheryl Boone Isaacs '71

With the 2014 Academy Awards telecast on Sunday, a spotlight has shone on the organization’s new president Cheryl Boone Isaacs. The veteran Hollywood marketing executive has recently been profiled in the Los Angeles Times,  Associated Press, ... More

Friday, February 28, 2014
Alma Martinez '84

Actress and theatre professor Alma Martinez ’84 was inducted into the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) last fall. She joined 21 other Latino celebrities—including Rosario Dawson, Jennifer Lopez, and Danny Trejo—invited to join... More

Pages

Dec
09
Fri, 12/09/2016 (All day)
Dec
09
Fri, 12/09/2016 - 1:30pm
Dec
12
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 8:00am
Dec
12
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 11:00am
Dec
12
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 1:30pm
Dec
12
Mon, 12/12/2016 - 8:30pm
It's that time of year, when Whittier's dedicated faculty... More
Dec
13
Tue, 12/13/2016 (All day)
Dec
20
Tue, 12/20/2016 (All day)
Dec
24
Sat, 12/24/2016 - 5:00pm
Dec
25
Sun, 12/25/2016 (All day)
Jan
01
Sun, 01/01/2017 (All day)
Jan
01
Sun, 01/01/2017 (All day)
Jan
03
Tue, 01/03/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
06
Fri, 01/06/2017 (All day)
Jan
07
Sat, 01/07/2017 (All day)
Jan
13
Fri, 01/13/2017 (All day)
Jan
16
Mon, 01/16/2017 (All day)
Jan
24
Tue, 01/24/2017 (All day)
Jan
24
Tue, 01/24/2017 (All day)
Jan
26
Thu, 01/26/2017 (All day)
Jan
31
Tue, 01/31/2017 - 9:00am
Vendors will be at the bookstore to assist graduating... More
Feb
01
Wed, 02/01/2017 (All day)
Feb
02
Thu, 02/02/2017 (All day)
Feb
15
Wed, 02/15/2017 (All day)
Feb
16
Thu, 02/16/2017 (All day)
Feb
20
Mon, 02/20/2017 (All day)
Feb
22
Wed, 02/22/2017 (All day)
Feb
24
Fri, 02/24/2017 - 8:00am
Mar
03
Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am
Mar
08
Wed, 03/08/2017 (All day)
Mar
13
Mon, 03/13/2017 (All day)
Mar
27
Mon, 03/27/2017 (All day)
Apr
01
Sat, 04/01/2017 - 9:00am
The Department of Music at Whittier College hosts its... More
Apr
02
Sun, 04/02/2017 - 9:00am
The Department of Music at Whittier College hosts its... More
Apr
03
Mon, 04/03/2017 - 8:00am
Apr
10
Mon, 04/10/2017 (All day)
Apr
11
Tue, 04/11/2017 - 6:00pm
Apr
16
Sun, 04/16/2017 - 8:00am
Apr
27
Thu, 04/27/2017 - 5:00pm
Apr
28
Fri, 04/28/2017 - 5:00pm
May
02
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 8:00am
May
03
Wed, 05/03/2017 - 8:00am
May
04
Thu, 05/04/2017 (All day)
May
09
Tue, 05/09/2017 - 8:00am
May
12
Fri, 05/12/2017 - 8:00am
May
24
Wed, 05/24/2017 - 8:00am
May
29
Mon, 05/29/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
04
Tue, 07/04/2017 - 8:00am
Jul
17
Mon, 07/17/2017 - 8:00am