News & Events

Friday, March 21, 2008

Evoking Quaker beliefs, Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger gave the morning prayer for the city, state and nation during the Mayor's Annual Prayer Breakfast. "The Quakers used silence to listen to disparate voices and search for... More

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

Sen. Barack Obama's speech, responding to criticism of his relationship with Rev. Jeremiah Wright, touched on controversial issues regarding race, religion, and politics that had not been at the forefront of his campaign. The speech urged Americans... More

Thursday, March 13, 2008

A team of four from Whittier College will be among eight college and university student teams selected to compete in the first annual "Know Your Heritage: Hispanic College Quiz" game show series, which will be hosted by NBC news anchor Zoraida... More

Tuesday, March 11, 2008

This month, Doreen O'Connor-Gómez, professor of Spanish, is covering miles while delivering the results of recent research. On March 8, she traveled to Florida International University to present the paper "La guinda de la mierda: Immigration and... More

Friday, March 7, 2008

"Please use your liberty to promote ours." This was the message expressed by Burmese activist, Ko Pyay, during a forum designed to foster awareness of current political activism in Burma. The event held in Whittier College's Memorial Chapel was co-... More

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Alanoud Al-Sharekh, visiting Fulbright scholar and specialist in Middle Eastern feminist literature, hopes that through open dialogue and the sharing of her own experiences living in the region, she can help dispel some of the myths and hype that... More

Thursday, March 6, 2008

The Nixon Fellowship program is taking full advantage of the 2008 presidential election year hubbub to bring exciting new opportunities to Whittier College students. The newly selected Nixon Fellows will attend the Republican and Democratic National... More

Thursday, March 6, 2008

Alanoud Al-Sharekh, visiting Fulbright scholar and specialist in Middle Eastern feminist literature, has joined the Whittier College faculty this spring, teaching classes on topics such as gender politics and Islam for the Department of Religious... More

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Seasoned studio executive Tim Clott '70 will share stories and lessons learned throughout his career in the entertainment industry as the March 2008 Alumni House Distinguished Speaker.  Have you heard of popular children's programs like "Hi-5" or "... More

Saturday, March 1, 2008

Local politics will heat up the Shannon Center as the City of Whittier turns out for its first debate of this election season, slated for Tuesday, March 11, at 8a.m. Among the participating candidates vying for three city positions will be... More

Pages

Nov
21
Fri, 11/21/2014 - 11:45am
Come join LEAP in our 23rd Annual Sportsfest!
Nov
21
Fri, 11/21/2014 - 12:00pm
Nov
27
Thu, 11/27/2014 - 4:00pm
Appetizers/Games at 4:00 pm Dinner at 5:30 pm   Any... More
Dec
02
Tue, 12/02/2014 - 7:00pm
David Tomas Martinez was born and raised in San Diego. He... More
Dec
05
Fri, 12/05/2014 - 6:30pm
2014 Whittier College Holiday Dinner Noel! both nights... More
Dec
06
Sat, 12/06/2014 - 6:30pm
2014 Whittier College Holiday Dinner Noel! both nights... More
Dec
09
Tue, 12/09/2014 - 9:00am
Jan
05
Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:00am
Jan
15
Thu, 01/15/2015 - 4:30pm
Now that we've researched some Graduate Schools, learn how... More
Jan
22
Thu, 01/22/2015 - 4:30pm
Finally, we will learn the in's and out's of Fellowships... More
Feb
18
Wed, 02/18/2015 - 6:30pm
Lights, camera, ACTION! Take the spotlight, it's your time... More
Feb
18
Wed, 02/18/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their career adventures and... More
Feb
20
Fri, 02/20/2015 - 11:00am
For any First-Year students who want to get acquainted with... More
Feb
20
Fri, 02/20/2015 - 11:15am
For any First-Year students who want to get acquainted with... More
Feb
23
Mon, 02/23/2015 - 12:00pm
Ensure that you ace the interview! Students will be... More
Feb
23
Mon, 02/23/2015 - 4:30pm
Ensure that you ace the interview! Students will be... More
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 11:00am
Mar
04
Wed, 03/04/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
05
Thu, 03/05/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
06
Fri, 03/06/2015 - 8:00pm
Written by William Shakespeare Adapted and Directed by Gil... More
Mar
11
Wed, 03/11/2015 - 6:30pm
Hear from past Poets about their journey into these fields... More