Alumni Board


The Alumni Association's Board of Directors is directly involved in the life of the College and supported by the Office of Alumni Relations.

The Alumni Board of Directors is appointed based on their demonstrated involvement, support, and commitment to the College and the Association. Current and former Directors are among Whittier College’s closest, most dedicated, and loyal volunteers, who assist the College in gauging the pulse of the alumni population and provide strategic direction and feedback on alumni events and outreach always with the goal of engaging our graduates. 

The Alumni Board of Directors Executive Board consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Communications, and Committee Chairs. Committees include Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Development, and Poet Network. The Board of Directors Executive and Committee membership is about 20 members who serve 2-year terms. The Board of Directors meets regularly and coordinates an annual retreat. 

In addition, the Board Chair serves on the Whittier College Board of Trustees and helps maintain a close and informed relationship between these two important governing bodies. 

For more information about the Board of Directors, please email

Alumni Board of Directors, Executive Board

Vincent Vigil '02, Chair

Amanda (Vaughn) Wherritt '99, Vice Chair

Robert (Duarte) Allarte '16, Communications Director

Sophin Zoe Pruong-McCreery '01, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Chair

Cody (Allman) Allarte '16, Development Committee Chair

Raye Thomas '08, Poet Network Committee Chair

Alumni Board of Directors

Chaired by Rachel (Homel) Rice '96, this committee works with the Office of Alumni Relations and the general Alumni Board to build pathways for alumni involvement with college-related activities such as Orientation, Homecoming, and more. The group oversees volunteer opportunities between alumni and college initiatives and assists the Office of Alumni Relations with overall alumni engagement.

Michael Nelson '95 

Leda (Muller) Mintzer '88 

Patty (Jurarez) Hill '98 

Dan Pira '96

Chaired by Sophin Zoe Pruong-McCreery '01, this committee is intended to consist of a diverse membership including representatives from the other cultural/identity-based affinity alumni organization (e.g., Black Alumni Association, APIDA, etc.). The committee will work closely with Alumni Relations and the Office of Equity & Inclusion.

Dorian Almaraz '14

Rodolfo “Rudy” Marquez '18

Robert Jacobo '11

Alma Corado Barrios '17

Gaby Gil '17

Chaired by Cody Allman '16, the focus of this committee is on financial sustainability options for the alumni association such as initiatives and campaigns. The committee will work closely with the Development Office.

Bill Francis '64

Frank Olson '64

Cassandra Ronquillo '14

Amanda Settlage '09

Chaired by Raye Thomas '08, this committee works with Alumni Relations and Center for Career & Professional Development to implement networking opportunities for alumni, initiates possible mentorship and/or employment opportunities with students or campus departments, and assists Alumni Relations with social media engagement.

Kevin Perez-Allen '05

Magaly Perez '10

Kristine Mariscal '10

Amer Rashid '17