Our English Language & Literature Professors

Breadcrumb

Faculty

Tony Barnstone

Professor of English
Hoover 215
562.907.4200 x4335
tbarnstone@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Poetry and Creative Writing, Translation, The Graphic Novel, American Literature, Asian and Asian-American Literature, Literature of War, and Popular Fiction

Jonathan Burton

Department Chair
Professor of English
Hoover 107
562.907.5021 
jburton@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Shakespeare, Early Modern Studies, Drama, Postcolonial Studies, Comparative Literature, Literature and Race, Islam and English Literature, Writing About Music, History of Education

Michelle Chihara

Associate Director, Whittier Scholars Program
Associate Professor of English
Wardman 102
562.907.4200 x4422
mchihara@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Contemporary American Literature and Culture, Economic History and the Culture of Finance, Television and Reality Television, Digital Media and Finance, Creative Writing

Joe Donnelly

Lecturer
Hoover 211
562.907.5168
jdonnel1@whittier.edu

Sean P. T. Morris

Associate Professor of English
Hoover 206
562.907.4200 x4416
smorris@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page​
Areas of Interest: Beowulf, Medieval Studies, Screenwriting​

dAve pAddy

Albert Upton Endowed Chair
Professor of English
Hoover 109 
562.907.4200 x4317
dpaddy@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page​
Areas of Interest: Modern and Contemporary British Literature, J.G. Ballard, Celtic Literature, Black British Culture, Critical Theory, Science Fiction  

Douglas Manuel

Bayard Rustin Teaching Fellow
Hoover Hall
562.907.4200
dmanueli@whittier.edu

Andrea Rehn

Associate Dean and Director, Whittier Scholars and Digital Liberal Arts Programs
Professor of English
Wardman Hall 108
562.907.4243
arehn@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Victorian Literature, Postcolonial Studies, Digital Humanities, Feminist and Queer Studies, Critical Theory

Faculty Emeriti

Charles S. Adams

Professor of English
cadams@whittier.edu
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: American Literature and Studies, Literary Theory, Baseball, Autobiography

Wendy Furman-Adams

Professor of English
wfurman@whittier.edu​
Visit faculty page
Areas of Interest: Milton, Dante, Early Modern Studies, Ecofeminism, Art and Literature, The Bible as Literature, Classical Literature

Administrative Staff

Angela Olivas

English Department Administrative Assistant
Hoover 210
562.907.4253
aolivas@whittier.edu