Holiday Schedule

Breadcrumb

Eligible Whittier College employees are provided with paid holidays which can be a combination of observed holidays, winter recess days, and/or personal days.

In order to qualify for holiday pay, an eligible employee must work the employee's regular schedule on the day immediately before and after the holiday. Only excused absences, such as approved vacation days, will be considered exceptions. Holiday pay will only be paid for hours and days an employee is normally scheduled to work.

The Personal Day must be agreed upon between the employee and their supervisor. To be eligible for use of the Personal Day, eligible employees must have completed the first 180 days of their probationary period.
 
For additional information and details on use of Holiday Pay and/or Personal Days, please refer to the Employee Handbook.


2021-2022 Paid Holidays

Day Holiday Date Day of Week
1 Independence Day (Observed) 7/5/21 Monday
2 Labor Day 9/6/21 Monday
3 Day Before Thanksgiving 11/24/21 Wednesday
4 Thanksgiving Day 11/25/21 Thursday
5 Day After Thanksgiving 11/26/21 Friday
6 Christmas Eve 12/24/21 Friday
7 Winter Recess Day 1 12/27/21 Monday
8 Winter Recess Day 2 12/28/21 Tuesday
9 Winter Recess Day 3 12/29/21 Wednesday
10 Winter Recess Day 4 12/30/21 Thursday
11 Winter Recess Day 5 12/31/21 Friday
12 New Year's Day (Observed) 1/3/22 Monday
13 Martin Luther King Jr. Day 1/17/22 Monday
14 Cesar Chavez Day 3/31/22 Thursday
15 Memorial Day 5/30/22 Monday
16 Personal Holiday